E-Visa Application Process: Govt. of India


Eligibility Criteria for E-Visa Application Process: Govt. of India

International travellers whose sole objective for visiting India is recreation, sight seeing,casual visit to meet friends and relatives, attending a short term yoga programme,Short term courses on local languages, music, dance, arts & crafts, cooking, medicine etc. which should not be a formal or structured course/programme (courses not exceeding 6 months duration and not issued with a qualifying certificate/ diploma etc),Voluntary work of short duration (for a maximum period of one month, which do not involve any monetary payment or consideration of any kind in return), medical treatment including treatment under Indian systems of medicine, business purpose, as attendant to e-Medical visa holder, attending a conference/ seminar/ workshop organized by a Ministry or Department of the Government of India, State Governments or UT Administrations etc. & their subordinate/ attached organizations & PSUs and private conferences organized by private persons/companies/organizations.

  • Passport should have at least six months validity from the date of arrival in India. The passport should have at least two blank pages for stamping by the Immigration Officer.
  • International Travellers should have return ticket or onward journey ticket,with sufficient money to spend during his/her stay in India.
  • International Travellers having Pakistani Passport or Pakistani origin may please apply for regular Visa at Indian Mission.
  • Not available to Diplomatic/Official Passport Holders or Laissez-passer travel document holders.
  • Not available to individuals endorsed on Parent’s/Spouse’s Passport i.e. each individual should have a separate passport.
  • Not available to International Travel Document Holders other than Passport.


Government of India makes no provision of charging of any emergency fees or additional fees for grant of any emergency / express e-visa.
Those travelling to India are also advised to go through instructions available on the website of Bureau of Immigration at https://boi.gov.in.

eVisa is admissable only under the following categories:
  • e-Tourist Visa
  • e-Business Visa
  • e-Conference Visa
  • e-Medical Visa
  • e-Medical Attendent Visa

 If you are a national of any following countries, you are eligible for eVisa issued by govt. of India

Albania Andorra Angola Anguilla
Antigua & Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba
Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas
Barbados Belgium Belize Bolivia
Bosnia & Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Brunei
Bulgaria Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Union Republic
Canada Cape Verde Cayman Island Chile
China China- SAR Hongkong China- SAR Macau Colombia
Comoros Cook Islands Costa Rica Cote d’lvoire
Croatia Cuba Cyprus Czech Republic
Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic
East Timor Ecuador El Salvador Eritrea
Estonia Fiji Finland France
Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany
Ghana Greece Grenada Guatemala
Guinea Guyana Haiti Honduras
Hungary Iceland Indonesia Iran
Ireland Israel Italy Jamaica
Japan Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya
Kiribati Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia
Lesotho Liberia Liechtenstein Lithuania
Luxembourg Madagascar Malawi Malaysia
Mali Malta Marshall Islands Mauritius
Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco
Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Mozambique
Myanmar Namibia Nauru Netherlands
New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Republic Niue Island
Norway Oman Palau Palestine
Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru
Philippines Poland Portugal Qatar
Republic of Korea Republic of Macedonia Romania Russia
Rwanda Saint Christopher and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent & the Grenadines
Samoa San Marino Saudi Arabia Senegal
Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore
Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands South Africa
Spain Sri Lanka Suriname Swaziland
Sweden Switzerland Taiwan Tajikistan
Tanzania Thailand Tonga Trinidad & Tobago
Turks & Caicos Island Tuvalu UAE Uganda
Ukraine United Kingdom Uruguay USA
Uzbekistan Vanuatu Vatican City-Holy See Venezuela
Zambia and Zimbabwe

Payment Helpdesk of E-Visa (Govt. of India)

SBI ePay: +91-22-2752-3816
+91 1800-22-401 (24 x 7)

Axis Bank : +91 1800-419-0073 (24 x 7)

Axis Toll free No.s from limited Countries:


+91-11-24300666 (24 x 7) indiatvoa@gov.in

All the information collected here are from Govt. of India (Indian Visa Online) and Visa seekers must get details at the following Link.